Cambridge English Language Assessment Northern Europe

News from Cambridge English Language Assessment Northern Europe

A day in the life of a Cambridge ESOL Consultant

leave a comment »

Read more about a day in the life of a Cambridge ESOL Consultant. Thanks for sharing your experiences with us and thanks for your great support, Ruth Barker!

“It’s 6.00am. This is going to be a very long day for me, I think to myself, so upwards and onwards!” As one of the Cambridge ESOL consultants for Saxony, North-Bavaria and Thuringia I am visiting some schools in the very eastern part of Saxony close to the Polish-Czec border today. But first things first, I have to do the important final preparation for my visits, I mustn’t forget anything.

The week before I arranged the times for my meetings and sorted out the papers and materials I am going to show, hand-out and discuss. That’s already done and I am feeling quite relaxed. I put the leaflets and handbooks in my travel bag and do the last check of my slide presentation. Everything seems to be alright and I get ready for travelling.

Being located at the other end of Saxony, in Plauen, it is going to take me two hours to reach my first school in Bautzen. It’s 9.30 am now. Having filled up my travel mug I set off hoping for a good run without any congestions or accidents. Luck is on my side and I reach my first stop at Gottlieb-Daimler Mittelschule just in time to take a little walk for ten minutes to freshen up before I am going to see Ms Schlosser at 12.30pm. She is a very committed English teacher and has just recently started to prepare a group of students for Preliminary English Test. Being a newcomer she has a lot of questions we discuss thoroughly. I can feel she is enjoying her new task and is looking forward to enrol her students in the exam procedures. Time flies and I have to dash to my next meeting at 14.00. Straight to the other end of town I don’t have much of a chance to look at the magnificent historic centre of one of the most beautiful towns in this area. Maybe, next time.

Fighting through a maze of one-way streets I reach Melanchthon Gymnasium where I will give an introduction to our Cambridge Certificates in front of teachers from three different schools. Debra Fehse, a dear friend of mine, became head of the language department at her school last year and most importantly she is involved in teacher training courses in the region, a good portion of extra support for me.

Talking to teachers about the importance of Cambridge Certificates has always been the task I really enjoy. And being a teacher myself I know exactly what I am talking about and I know what teachers are going to face  preparing students, especially those who are new to Cambridge ESOL exams. Worries about failures, concerns about exam fees, questions about the know-how and the battle for some extra money from the headmaster to buy a set of books to prepare students well.  But there is an answer for everything and at the end of the meeting I have the impression that I convinced the majority to take up a preparation course for students in the near future. Leaving with an empty bag but a lot of happy faces on my mind and new contacts I am heading home. It’s 16.30. Another two hours which I use to reflect how everything went and if I did enough. Thankfully, there is hardly any traffic on the road and I arrive at my house at 18.30 where a nice cup of tea is waiting for me at the end of a busy day.”

 

Written by cambridgeenglishde

January 30, 2012 at 8:12 am

Leave a Reply

